The Committee for the Organization of State Power, Local Self-Government, Regional Development, and Urban Planning established a Working Group to develop comprehensive changes to the electoral law in order to unify the mechanism for legal regulation of election process in Ukraine.

The members invited to participate in the group are people’s deputies who are the committee members, representatives of public authorities, local self-governments, international partners, NGOs, academia, and experts in electoral law.

The appointed co-chairs of the Working Group are Andriy Klochko, the Committee head, and Alina Zahoruyko, a head of subcommittee on elections and referenda. They shall compile the membership of the group.

According to Alina Zahoruyko, the group has been created in order to comply with the requirements for entering fundamental changes to electoral framework, at least a year before the day of local elections.

The decision was supported by all Committee members.